Tablet support

User avatar
Dutchman
Posts: 815
Joined: Mon May 06, 2013 9:21 am
My devices: iMac, iPad Air, iPhone
Location: Netherlands
Flag: Netherlands

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by Dutchman »

The last 5 posts tell me in fact that I should keep my Apple-stuff. Nothing changed since the nineties :lol:

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPad, iPhone, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

Dutchman wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 8:01 am
The last 5 posts tell me in fact that I should keep my Apple-stuff. Nothing changed since the nineties :lol:
In Windows apps now it is possible to specify the minimal Windows version on which app can run. So, for SPL this is Creators Update version which was out in spring. This means that Windows with older version cannot install SPL.
For Apple there are the same settings, and I keep minimal iOS version as low as possible.
But there is a big difference: Microsoft do not push developers to increase minimal version number, whereas Apple insist to increase it - now smart BASIC has minimal iOS version 9.0 instead of 5.1 without any reason - this pushes people to update their iOS devices to newer ones. But this is absolutely artificial and is just a pressure for developers. For example, I have my old iPad 1, and it is completely functional as it was new, but I cannot develop my sB for it - Apple made this impossible, so I need to increase minimal iOS version number - and to buy new iPad to be able to run sB.

User avatar
rbytes
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:11 am
My devices: iPhone 11 Pro Max
iPad Pro 11
MacBook
Dell Inspiron laptop
CHUWI Plus 10 convertible Windows/Android tablet
Location: Calgary, Canada
Flag: Canada
Contact:

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by rbytes »

Mr. KIbernetik wrote:
As for me, I use Parameters > Security and update > Restore option. It allows to reinstall Windows completely, and it fixes all problems if there are some.
Thanks, Mr. K. Do you require a recovery disk for this option?
The only thing that gets me down is gravity...

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPad, iPhone, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

rbytes wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 12:21 pm
Do you require a recovery disk for this option?
No. I think it uses Internet to download Windows.

User avatar
Dav
Posts: 277
Joined: Tue Dec 30, 2014 5:12 pm
My devices: iPad Mini, iPod Touch.
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by Dav »

I actually used iMeasure today. Had to cut some copy paper into strips of certain size to hand out. Didn't have a ruler, but had my ipad so I used iMeasure. :lol:

Tried to update my cheap win10 tablet. Couldn't do it. Not enough disk space on the tablet says update, even after removing everything I could. I was hoping to use SPL soon. :cry:

- Dav

User avatar
rbytes
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:11 am
My devices: iPhone 11 Pro Max
iPad Pro 11
MacBook
Dell Inspiron laptop
CHUWI Plus 10 convertible Windows/Android tablet
Location: Calgary, Canada
Flag: Canada
Contact:

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by rbytes »

Can you expand your tablet's memory with a memory card such as a micro SD?
The only thing that gets me down is gravity...

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPad, iPhone, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: Measuring tool - iMeasure

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

Dav wrote:
Sun Sep 17, 2017 9:58 pm
Tried to update my cheap win10 tablet. Couldn't do it. Not enough disk space on the tablet says update, even after removing everything I could. I was hoping to use SPL soon. :cry:
There is one tool which is used to install fresh Windows on a mobile device: https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/hel ... y-tool-faq
It is used when everything is completely unrecoverable.

User avatar
rbytes
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:11 am
My devices: iPhone 11 Pro Max
iPad Pro 11
MacBook
Dell Inspiron laptop
CHUWI Plus 10 convertible Windows/Android tablet
Location: Calgary, Canada
Flag: Canada
Contact:

Re: Tablet support

Post by rbytes »

I got my Dell laptop updated overnight to the latest version of Windows. I'm not sure why it had trouble on the previous attempt. But the update took hours, and the laptop was running pretty warm when I checked. :!:

I installed SPL this morning and it runs perfectly. Today I will use Dropbox to sync my folders from my tablet.

It occurs to me that we may want to provide alternate input methods on programs that use touch. I texted a few programs from Examples, and as I expected, I couldn't do any panning or zooming in Mandelbrot.

My next laptop will definitely have touch.
The only thing that gets me down is gravity...

User avatar
Mr. Kibernetik
Site Admin
Posts: 4626
Joined: Mon Nov 19, 2012 10:16 pm
My devices: iPad, iPhone, MacBook
Location: Russia
Flag: Russia

Re: Tablet support

Post by Mr. Kibernetik »

rbytes wrote:
Mon Sep 18, 2017 2:16 pm
I got my Dell laptop updated overnight to the latest version of Windows. I'm not sure why it had trouble on the previous attempt. But the update took hours, and the laptop was running pretty warm when I checked. :!:

I installed SPL this morning and it runs perfectly. Today I will use Dropbox to sync my folders from my tablet.

It occurs to me that we may want to provide alternate input methods on programs that use touch. I texted a few programs from Examples, and as I expected, I couldn't do any panning or zooming in Mandelbrot.

My next laptop will definitely have touch.
Mandelbrot example uses screen touch to pan/zoom and it should work with your tablet. I don't know if it can work with laptop touchpad or not.

User avatar
rbytes
Posts: 1337
Joined: Sun May 31, 2015 12:11 am
My devices: iPhone 11 Pro Max
iPad Pro 11
MacBook
Dell Inspiron laptop
CHUWI Plus 10 convertible Windows/Android tablet
Location: Calgary, Canada
Flag: Canada
Contact:

Re: Tablet support

Post by rbytes »

Yes, it works with my tablet. My current laptop doesn't have touch. Maybe in the future I will adapt Mandelbrot with sliders to pan and zoom. They could be hidden if touch is available.
The only thing that gets me down is gravity...

Post Reply